Diabetes Art Day

I know I stink at posting… but sometimes I just get inspired. And boy was I inspired! Leann over at The Butter Compartment had the brilliant idea of claiming September 1st as Diabetes Art Day. People all over the internet (and all over the world) are participating so I thought I should too. I’ve been considering doing an art project for awhile now because I am obsessed Leann’s diabetes-supplies-are-art-supplies concept. So I finally had an excuse to get off my butt and do it. And it came to me so quickly. This piece didn’t take me long but it means a lot to me. It’s made ENTIRELY of diabetes supplies. There’s no paint or glue or anything else! Here it is! (I apologize for the terrible photo quality. I’m not sure where my camera cable is and was too excited to post to go find it. So I used my iPhone.)

Here it is up close:

Well there it is. The flower is definitely my favorite part. But I love that it’s “growing” out of the mess of diabetes supplies. The “vase” part is actually a Troparocka Snapple bottle. So the mess is being held together my support and hope. Yeah, I know. It’s cheesy. But I had fun. :) The “mess” is pretty much everything you need if you have diabetes. It’s test strips (some used, some not… I found a bunch), old insulin vial, resvoirs, tubing, lancets, syringes, pen caps, alcohol swabs, cracker wrapper, etc. And the “blood” is actually control solution. Close enough! Oh and the stem of the flower is juice box straws. My project is now sitting on the window sill in our kitchen. Not sure what I’ll do with it. Hopefully someday I’ll have some sort of “office” devoted to diabetes to put it in.

So there it is! I’m loving seeing everyone’s art projects today! And I definitely recommend that others poke around at some other diabetes blogs and check them out!

21 Responses to Diabetes Art Day

  1. Sarah says:

    AWWWW!!! It’s so cUtE!!!!!! :-) Nice job!!

  2. Lorraine says:

    This is so great – so beautiful. And no you don’t stink at posting. :)

  3. Sherry says:

    Very Nice! Love it!

  4. VirtueB says:

    nice. i like that something pretty and positive can grow through all that d-gear.

    V.

  5. George says:

    I love it and it’s not cheesy at all!!!! It’s great, really.

  6. Val says:

    Love it – flower is my favorite bit too, but I love that it’s popping out of all the d-litter!

  7. That’s super cool! I’m really impressed that you only used diabetes-related stuff to construct that. Using the Troparocka bottle (which I have got to remember to look for…) was just brilliant, and instead of cheesy, I’d say it’s inspired and very well-conceived.

    Thank you so much for adding your diabetes flower to Diabetes Art Day! And I hope you find a great permanent place to keep it :)

    • cgstrauch says:

      Wow! Thanks Lee Ann. Your thoughts mean a lot!! I really think this event was fantastic, and I’m seriously loving looking at the incredible things everyone has created. :D I’m already looking forward to next year!!!

  8. smashleeca says:

    It’s so pretty! I would definitely keep it on my desk. It’s simple, yet it is so full of the life w/ D.

  9. I love it too – the flower is fantastic! :-)

  10. beats says:

    I’m not sure why but this site is loading extremely slow for me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a problem on my end? I’ll check back later and see if the problem still exists.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

