My thoughts on reversing type 1 with diets

There always seems to be a new fad in dieting and “healthy eating.” Right it seems that the paleo diet is the latest craze in healthy eating, but really there have been countless other types of fad diets out there that become a craze at some point. I have nothing against anyone choosing any type of diet if it works for them. I’m also totally fine with people talking about the choices they are making, starting conversations about healthy eating, and being open to answering questions about their diet. I am, however, against anyone saying that ANY DIET will reverse type 1 diabetes (I’m pretty uncomfortable with anyone saying they can reverse type 2 diabetes too but that’s a whole ‘nother blog post).

Here’s a list of my thoughts and reasons why it’s wrong and offensive to tell me a diet will “reverse” type 1 diabetes:

- Type 1 diabetes is an autoimmune disorder. Neither I nor my parents did anything to cause my diagnosis when I was three years old.
- No matter what I eat, my body still needs insulin. It takes 24.45u of basal insulin to be exact (it takes LOTS of time & energy to figure out this number). This insulin works to counteract the glucose that my body naturally creates for energy, so even if I don’t eat anything at all, I still need 24.45 units of insulin to make it through the day.
- Type 1 diabetes is IRREVERSIBLE! No matter what I do, I will always have type 1 diabetes.
- Telling me that your diet will reverse my diabetes makes it sound like you think I am ignorant about diabetes, when I can guarantee you that its quite the opposite.
- Insisting that I am doing something wrong in terms of my diabetes is rude even if you think you are just “informing” me about your diet.
- If there was a way for me to stop taking insulin, I would do it. No matter what it takes. But THERE ISN’T!
- Telling newly diagnosed people or families with diabetes about your “type 1 reversing diet” gives them false hope. It’s unfair and downright mean.
- The best diet for a person with type 1 diabetes is whatever that person and their medical team figure out is the best for them.

I’m sure there are other things I could add to this list, but that’s just what’s been swimming around in my brain for the past few days. If you have any to add, please leave them in the comments because I’d love to read them! I know it’s so frustrating for me and for my friends with diabetes to have to deal with this kind of thing. It’s hard enough to juggle different aspects of diabetes and hearing this stuff just… sucks. So please, if you or someone you know is trying to spread this kind of information, please let me know how truly hurtful it is!

6 Responses to My thoughts on reversing type 1 with diets

  1. Kathy says:

    The only logical way to control/reverse Type 1 diabetes with diet is to not eat at all. Unfortunately its not that practical.

  2. danielouize says:

    I could not have summed up the same feeling’s better! Brilliant post!

  3. Great post Colleen. As you know I have a friend posting this as we speak. I know natural remedies work for different things and I use them where applicable. I am sorry that Type 1 is not one of them or I would do it for my daughter. What Dr. Robert O. Young is proposing will KILL my daughter and every other Type 1 Diabetic or cause serious complications like DKA from the lack of insulin. thanks for posting how we feel.

  4. Carol says:

    I too get very tired of people who THINK they have the answer for Type I Diabetes. Insulin is the answer, whether we like it or not. Carol

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

