My guilty pleasure

First off, I know this probably sounds absolutely ridiculous. But… I freaking love Ramen. I’m not totally sure why. I think it might just be my love of soup  combined with my love of thrifty shopping, but I eat it almost everyday for lunch.

I know I wrote the other day about how I haven’t been eating white bread or pasta, but this is my only real exception. The awesome thing is though, I have pretty much perfected my “Ramen bolus.” Each pack is around 52g of carbs. I bolus my 5.2 units (by the way, I love having a 1:10 carb ratio… it makes math really easy!) about 20 to 30 minutes before I start making the Ramen. I also have to factor in what my blood sugar is before I  decide on how long I need to wait. If I’m on the lower side, I don’t wait as long. If I’m on the higher side, I wait much longer.

This may seem pretty obvious, but it’s a huge step for me, and the CGM has really helped me make this work! My post prandial blood sugars have been stellar since I figured this all out.

I know it also may just seem silly that I worked so hard to be able to eat a 10 cent pack of microwavable noodles, but what can I say? They are just that yummy to me. Shrimp ramen is my favorite! And I always sprinkle some cayenne pepper into it to give it a kick. I also love “oriental” ramen because I can use a few drops of “rooster sauce” to spice it up.

I think this is a great example of how you can eat just about anything as a diabetic if you can figure out how to cover it properly.

2 Responses to My guilty pleasure

  1. Tony Rose says:

    HELLOOOOOOOOO Sodium. Yeah, I can relate from my college days. I think it’s so good because of all the salt. Also, love the extra kick!

  2. WHole foods sell Ramen w/o the artificial additives, high sodium, MSG, and packet. You have to make sauce from scratch
    Sauce
    1. Add tsp oil, minced garlic, minced ginger to skill on low high
    2. When hot add fresh veggies-green beans, carrots, snow peas, broccoli, mushrooms (3-5 minutes).
    3. Add 1 tbsp soy sauce

Leave a Reply

