A day with a malfunctioning pancreas

This is my first post for Karen‘s great idea: Diabetes Blog Week! Check out Karen’ts post to see what the topics are for the week and to see the full list of participants. There are 95 of them!

So… a day in my life with diabetes. I actually don’t see a day in my life as being all that terribly different than someone’s without diabetes. The only exception is that I have some finger pricks, button presses, set/sensor changes, carb counting, and long division mixed in.

Lately, my diabetes life has actually been pretty simple. I haven’t been very active during the date lately since I am unemployed. So I’ve been able to perfect my basal rates and bolus timing. It’s honestly hard for me to break down all the times diabetes creeps into my day. It is constant. It is always the little voice in the back of my head second guessing every decision I make from what to eat to driving the car to doing any kind of physical activity.

Diabetes is something that plays a role in everything. I feel like I need to be constantly aware of my body and how I’m feeling. This is why they say you can never really have a vacation from diabetes. It is like an overprotective mother constantly nagging you.

The thing is though, this is how my days have always been. I don’t remember not having the constant nagging. I’m not sure what life would be like without it. I’ve tested my blood sugar every single day since June 1st, 1989. Therefore, it’s not really something that I see as a very big deal. It is second nature.

2 Responses to A day with a malfunctioning pancreas

  1. Lorraine says:

    I’m so glad that d is behaving for you. Caleb recently had an illness (it made me realize how healthy he’s been because I can’t remember dealing with him ill like that in the last three years since being diagnosed). Anyway, my point is, he didn’t eat much and he didn’t move much. Diabetes was pretty cooperative then too!

  2. brigdon says:

    Wouldn’t it be great if everyone with diabetes were granted a day to perfect our basal rates and bolus timing? I think you’re on to something!

Leave a Reply

