Some Background Info.

This is me at camp

My name is Colleen. I am 25 years old, and I live in Mechanicsburg, PA with my family. We have a little pug named Rocky who is pretty much the most adorable, ridiculously cute ball of chub. I am the camp director for the Harrisburg Diabetic Youth Camp which is a week long camp that takes place annually in June at a campsite near my hometown. I have a degree in political science from Arcadia University near Philadelphia. I love the band Sugar Ray, the Philadelphia Eagles, the Philadelphia Phillies, photography, Dexter, ER, The Office, and many other things.

I have been diabetic since June 1st, 1989. I have grown to have a love-hate relationship with diabetes. I am currently on the Minimed Paradigm 722 with Novolog insulin. I also use the Minimed Real-time CGMS and Contour USB meter.

 

3 Responses to Some Background Info.

  1. Colleen says:

    Hello! from another Colleen.

  2. Mom says:

    Reading this blog makes me realize what an incredibe young woman we have raised. So very proud of you!

    • cgstrauch says:

      Thanks Mom! My confidence and comfort with my diabetes is mostly because of you and dad! I have the “look the other way” mentality that a lot of other diabetics don’t. One of the memories I have of my childhood with diabetes is being at a restaurant and you telling me that if someone has a problem with me taking my shot at the table, they can look the other way! That really has become the basis of my mentality when it comes to diabetes.

      I love you!!!

      ❤ Colleen

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: